Hoysala Temples Of Karnataka Now India’s 42nd UNESCO World Heritage Site, Check Complete List

1/5 - (1 vote)

The special groups of temples in Karnataka, known as the Hoysala temples of Belur, Halebid, and Somananthpura, have received the UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization) world heritage status. This has brought a wave of happiness all over India. This inclusion is a big deal because it’s the 42nd place in India to get this special status. It happened right after Rabindranath Tagore’s Shantiniketan also got the same world heritage tag.

Announcing it on social media platform, UNESCO congratulated India and wrote “Just inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List: Sacred Ensembles of the Hoysalas, India. Congratulations!”.

Reacting to this on X, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said that it has brought “More pride for India! The magnificent Sacred Ensembles of the Hoysalas have been inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List. The timeless beauty and intricate details of the Hoysala temples are a testament to India’s rich cultural heritage and the exceptional craftsmanship of our ancestors.”

It is pertinent to mention here that these temples have been on the tentative list of UNESCO since 2014, and all of them are already protected by Archaeological Survey of India.

List Of All UNESCO World Heritage Sites In India

With the inclusion of Hoysala Temples in the UNESCO world heritage sites, the number of heritage sites in India has expanded to 42. They are listed below;

  1. Agra Fort (1983)
  2. Ajanta Caves (1983)
  3. Nalanda Mahavihara at Nalanda, Bihar (2016)
  4. Buddhist Monuments at Sanchi (1989)
  5. Champaner-Pavagadh Archaeological Park (2004)
  6. Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (earlier called Victoria Terminus) (2004)
  7. Churches and Convents of Goa (1986)
  8. DholaviraCity (2021)
  9. Elephanta Caves of Maharashtra(1987)
  10. Ellora Caves of Maharashtra (1983)
  11. Fatehpur Sikri (1986)
  12. Great Himalayan National Park Conservation Area (2014)
  13. Great Living Chola Temples (1987)
  14. Monuments at Hampi (1986)
  15. Monuments at Mahabalipuram (1984)
  16. Group of Monuments at Pattadakal (1987)
  17. Hill Forts of Rajasthan (2013)
  18. City of Ahmadabad (2017)
  19. Humayun’s Tomb, Delhi (1993)
  20. Jaipur City, Rajasthan (2019)
  21. Kakatiya Rudreshwara (Ramappa) Temple, Telangana (2021)
  22. Kaziranga National Park (1985)
  23. Keoladeo National Park (1985)
  24. Khajuraho temples (1986)
  25. Khangchendzonga National Park (2016)
  26. Mahabodhi Temple Complex at Bodh Gaya (2002)
  27. Manas Wildlife Sanctuary (1985)
  28. Mountain Railways of India (1999)
  29. Nanda Devi and Valley of Flowers National Parks (1988)
  30. Qutb Minar and its Monuments, Delhi (1993)
  31. Rani-ki-Vav (the Queen’s Stepwell) at Patan, Gujarat (2014)
  32. Red Fort Complex (2007)
  33. Rock Shelters of Bhimbetka (2003)
  34. Sun Temple, Konârak (1984)
  35. Sundarbans National Park (1987)
  36. Taj Mahal (1983)
  37. The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier, (2016)
  38. The Jantar Mantar, Jaipur (2010)
  39. Victorian Gothic and Art Deco Ensembles of Mumbai (2018)
  40. Western Ghats (2012)
  41. Santiniketan, West Bengal
  42. Sacred ensembles of the Hoysalas, Karnataka

Significance of UNESCO World Heritage Status

When a monument or a place is given a World Heritage status, it means that;

  1. the place is of huge importance to the world.
  2. the place bears huge cultural and natural significance.
  3. the place needs to be preserved.

So, this was all about the Hoysala Temples that became the 42nd world heritage sites in India. Kindly share this article with your friends.

Also Check: Nuakhai festival 2023

Leave a Comment